Funding mobility in a post-carbon world

La Fabrique de la Cité offers you an inventory of the different levers to act on the decarbonation of mobility and its funding. Thanks to this tool, we propose to identify the mechanisms for funding mobility according to different criteria such as the scope of implementation, the main contributor, the expected secondary benefits or the acceptability of the measure .

icon

Who pays?

Companies
State
Taxpayer
icon

What scale of implementation?

Local
National
icon

What secondary benefits for the community?

Building densification
CO2 emissions mitigation
Modal shift toward less carbonized modes / behaviours
Traffic jam mitigation / Ridership decrease
Vehicle miles traveled by car decrease
icon

More filters:
+

Existing solutions:

Bureaux à La Défense, Paris

Tax on office premises in the Île-de-France (Greater Paris) region

Initially limited to office premises, this annual tax introduced in 1990 had its base extended in 1999 to retail and storage premises, then in 2011 to parking spaces. Today, the TSB also applies to parking spaces in the Île de France region. It is payable on 1 January for an entire year, even if the premises change usage, owner or become vacant during the year.
Travaux sur le réseau VINCI Autoroutes

Lane rental scheme: funding road infrastructure by reducing the time limitations of roadworks

Road infrastructure maintenance is essential if network performance is to be preserved. It requires regular interventions by public works companies. However, these roadworks also vehicle negative externalities which may prove to be expensive to users (longer journey times) and may put a strain on cities’ attractiveness.
Voitures en stationnement

Public space taxation: leveraging stock to fund flows

The MAPTAM Law established a fixed post-parking fee (FPS or Forfait post-stationnement) instead of penalties, in cases of partial payment or non-payment of parking fees. Like penalties, the revenues of the post-parking fee are intended to finance environmentally-friendly public transportation policies and traffic and mobility policies.
Rues de New York

Land value capture: harnessing the value generated by accessibility

The value generated by the improved accessibility of an area may be a source of mobility funding provided that the capital gain related to the completion of new transportation infrastructure is recovered. This is exactly what the “land value capture” mechanism intends to achieve. Through this measure, it is possible to recover part of the land value generated and to allocate it to mobility funding.
Tr

The specific case in France: public transportation funded by employers through the versement mobilité

The "versement mobilité" (VM) is a local contribution payable by public- and private-sector employers with more than eleven employees, which supplements the funding of transportation networks.
Transports gratuits à Dunkerque

Fare-free public transportation

In recent years, cities have considered making public transportation free of charge. In France, Châteauroux, Niort and Dunkirk have made their transportation networks free to use, as have Tallinn and Luxembourg.
Redynamiser la mobilité grâce au numérique

Public transportation passes and the limits of influencing flows

From the 1970s, mobility authorities started to offer weekly, monthly and annual travel passes. These passes gave their holders unlimited access to the entire public transport network for a single price generally dependent on a geographical criterion (zones).
Managed Lanes

Managed lanes: promoting some uses while funding infrastructure

Managed lanes meet three objectives: maintaining an optimal service level on the road in question or the motorway, achieved through a reduction in the volume of traffic by influencing the price or journey time, improving the commercial speed of public transportation lines and producing revenues to finance projects on the thoroughfare concerned.
Droit d'usage infrastructure : la vignette

Infrastructure usage rights: an analysis of the Eurovignette and the Swiss vignette

The road usage charge is often implemented through the display of a vignette (sticker) which gives the holder the right to use all or part of the road network.
Péage urbain à Londres

City tolls, an opportunity to fund mobility

To reduce the externalities generates by cars, several global cities have introduced city tolls, obliging drivers to pay in order to increase the share of total traffic levies in urban areas.
Réseau VINCI Autoroutes A66

The concession model to step up carbon intensity reduction in medium – and long – distance mobility

There are many solutions to reduce transport sector emissions in dense areas and over short distances. However, many of these mechanisms are not ineffective for medium distances (from 10 to 100km).
Taxe sensible aux émissions

Putting a price on carbon to control emissions more effectively

The carbon tax and carbon emission quotas are economic measures aimed at making polluters pay in proportion to their emissions (the polluter pays principle) and ultimately to steer companies’ and citizens’ behaviours and decisions towards a reduction in polluting emissions.
Poids lourds sur l'autoroute A4

Weight tax and taxes on HGV traffic in Europe

According to the CITEPA, in 2017, HGVs accounted for 5.7% of total CO2 emissions in France and roughly 20% of annual CO2equivalent emissions in the transport sector. However, goods carriers do not contribute to road network maintenance proportionately to their effect on it.
Zombie Tax

Zombie tax: emptying the streets, filling (robo)taxis

The zombie tax aims to steer autonomous vehicles towards certain uses (shared vehicles rather than empty vehicles), in certain areas (with limited public transportation) and at certain times (off-peak hours).
Road User charge

Road usage charge: charging users rather than consumers

Faced with congestion, pollution and mobility funding issues, cities such as Singapore and States such as Oregon are currently testing a mileage charge system which entails charging users in proportion to their use of the road network.
Péage urbain de Singapour

Singapore and the issurance of a quota of licences to finance mobility

In 1990, to mitigate vehicle traffic and contain the growth of road infrastructure, Singapore rolled out several measures: a city toll (Electronic Road Pricing) and the Certificate of Entitlement (COE). The latter measure aims to control and limit growth in the number of vehicles in circulation.
Frais d'enregistrement véhicules électriques

Setting registration fees for electric vehicles

Vehicles must be registered to be entitled to move around freely. Registration involves vehicle owners paying a tax, after which a registration number and certificate are issued so that authorities can establish the link between a vehicle and its owner.
Voiture électrique en charge

Kilowatt-hour fee: taxing electricity consumption in mobility

As the proportion of electric vehicles in circulation increases, the tax shortfall will also grow, making the use of a charge on the use of electric vehicles inescapable. Several solutions can be considered. One such solution would be to tax vehicle electricity consumption by importing the current fuel tax model.
L'affectation des taxes sur le carburant à la mobilité

Allocating fuel tax revenues to mobility

Traditionally, US States used vehicle registration fees, firstly as a one-off payment and then as an annual tax; from 1919 and the introduction of a fuel tax, infrastructure construction became financed through an indirect tax collected on the fuel sales price.

Receive the Urban Snapshot

Stay up to date on our news and projects by subscribing to our monthly publication.

Registration validated! You will soon receive your first number

Financer la mobilité dans un monde post-carbone

La Fabrique de la Cité vous propose un inventaire des différents leviers pour agir sur la décarbonation de la mobilité et son financement. Grâce à cet outil, nous vous proposons d'identifier les mécanismes et outils de financement de la mobilité en fonction de différents critères tels que le périmètre de mise en œuvre, le contributeur principal, les bénéfices secondaires attendus ou l'acceptabilité de la mesure.

icon

Qui paie ?

Contribuable
Entreprise
Usager
icon

Quelle échelle de mise en œuvre ?

Locale
Nationale
icon

Quels bénéfices secondaires pour la collectivité ?

Densification du bâti
Réduction de la congestion / baisse de la fréquentation
Réduction des émissions de CO2
Réduction du nombre de kilomètres parcourus en voiture
Report vers des modes/usages moins carbonés
icon

Plus de filtres :
+

Solutions existantes:

Bureaux à La Défense, Paris

Taxe sur les bureaux pour financer les projets de transports collectifs

Initialement limitée aux bureaux, la taxe sur les bureaux (TSB) instaurée en 1990 a vu, dès 1999, son assiette élargie aux locaux commerciaux et de stockage puis, en 2011, aux surfaces de stationnement. Aujourd’hui, la TSB s’applique également aux surfaces de stationnement en Île-de-France.
Travaux sur le réseau VINCI Autoroutes

Lane rental scheme : réduire l’emprise temporelle des travaux de voirie

La maintenance des infrastructures routières est essentielle pour préserver l’efficacité des réseaux. Elle nécessite l’intervention régulière d’entreprises de travaux publics. Toutefois, ces travaux sont aussi vecteurs d’externalités négatives pouvant se révéler coûteuses pour les usagers (allongement du temps de parcours) et pouvant grever l’attractivité des villes.
Voitures en stationnement

Forfait post-stationnement : le recours au stock pour financer les flux

La loi MAPTAM a mis en place un forfait de post-stationnement (FPS) en lieu et place des amendes, en cas du paiement partiel ou du non-paiement de la redevance de stationnement. À l’instar des amendes, le produit du forfait post-stationnement est destiné à financer les politiques de transports en commun respectueuses de l’environnement ainsi que les politiques de circulation et de mobilité
Rues de New York

Land value capture : valoriser l’accessibilité pour financer les réseaux et l’infrastructure de transport

La valeur produite par l’amélioration de l’accessibilité d’une zone peut devenir une source de financement de la mobilité à condition que la plus-value liée à la livraison de nouvelles infrastructures de transports soit récupérée. C’est précisément ce que permet le mécanisme dit de « land-value capture », grâce auquel il est possible de récupérer une partie de la valeur foncière créée et de l’allouer au financement de la mobilité.
Transports publics

Versement transport / mobilité : financement par les employeurs des services de transport collectif

Le Versement mobilité (VM) est une contribution locale des employeurs publics et privés de plus de 11 salariés, qui abonde le financement des réseaux de transport. De ce fait, elle constitue un impôt de production pesant sur la performance économique des entreprises.
Transports gratuits à Dunkerque

Rendre gratuits les transports collectifs pour transformer les usages

Depuis plusieurs années, des villes évoquent ainsi le possible déploiement de la gratuité des transports publics. Châteauroux, Niort et Dunkerque en France, Tallinn et le Luxembourg à l’étranger ont rendu leurs transports gratuits.
Redynamiser la mobilité grâce au numérique

Redynamiser la tarification de la mobilité à l’ère du numérique

À partir des années 1970, les autorités organisatrices de mobilité ont commencé à proposer des titres de transport sous la forme d’abonnements hebdomadaires, mensuels ou annuels. Ces abonnements ouvrent à leurs détenteurs un accès illimité à l’ensemble des moyens de transport pour un prix unique dépendant généralement d’un critère géographique (zones).
Managed Lanes

Managed lanes : financer les projets d’infrastructures en prenant en compte les contraintes contemporaines

Les managed lanes répondent à trois objectifs : maintenir un niveau de service optimal sur la voie concernée sur l’autoroute en réduisant le volume de circulation grâce à une action sur le prix ou le temps de parcours, améliorer la vitesse commerciale des lignes de transport collectif et produire des revenus pour financer des projets sur l’axe concerné.
Droit d'usage infrastructure : la vignette

Droit d’usage de l’infrastructure : une comparaison de l’Eurovignette et de la vignette suisse

La mise en place d’un droit d’usagese matérialise souvent par l’affichage d’une vignette qui octroie à son détenteur le droit d’emprunter une partie ou l’ensemble du réseau routier.
Péage urbain à Londres

Le péage urbain, une opportunité au service du financement de la mobilité

Pour réduire les externalités engendrées par l'automobile, plusieurs métropoles mondiales ont mis en place des péages urbains, imposant un paiement aux automobilistes afin d’augmenter la part des prélèvements totaux sur la circulation en milieu urbain.
Réseau VINCI Autoroutes A66

Le modèle concessif : inscrire la décarbonation dans le temps long

De nombreuses solutions existent pour réduire les émissions du secteur des transports dans les zones denses et sur les courtes distances. Toutefois, un grand nombre de ces mécanismes sont inopérants pour ce qui concerne les moyennes distances (comprises entre 10 et 100 km)
Taxe sensible aux émissions

Taxe sensible aux émissions

Taxe carbone et quotas d’émissions carbone sont autant de mesures économiques visant à faire payer les pollueurs proportionnellement à leurs émissions (principe du pollueur-payeur) et à orienter, à terme, les comportements et décisions des entreprises et citoyens vers la réduction des émissions polluantes
Poids lourds sur l'autoroute A4

Weight tax et taxes sur la circulation des poids lourds en Europe

Selon le Citepa, en 2017, les poids lourds représentaient 5,7 % du total des émissions de CO2 en France et environ 20 % des émissions annuelles équivalent CO2 du secteur des transports 185. Or la contribution des transporteurs de marchandises à l’entretien du réseau routier n’est pas proportionnelle à leur impact sur ce dernier.
Zombie Tax

Zombie tax : vider les rues, remplir les (robo)taxis

La zombie tax a pour objectif d’orienter les véhicules autonomes vers certains usages (véhicule partagé plutôt que circulant à vide), dans certaines zones (zones peu desservies par les transports collectifs) et à certaines périodes (hors des heures de pointe).
Road User charge

Road user charge : la mise en place d’une redevance kilométrique

Confrontés aux problèmes de congestion, de pollution et de financement de la mobilité, des villes comme Singapour et des États comme l’Oregon expérimentent aujourd’hui un système de redevance kilométrique qui consiste à faire payer les usagers proportionnellement à leur utilisation de la route.
Péage urbain de Singapour

Singapour et l’émission d’un quota de licences pour financer la mobilité

 En 1990, pour modérer la circulation automobile et contenir la progression des infrastructures routières, la cité-État de Singapour a mis en place plusieurs mesures : un péage urbain (l’Electronic road pricing) et le Certificate of Entitlement (COE). Ce dernier a pour objectif de contrôler et limiter la croissance du nombre de véhicules en circulation.
Frais d'enregistrement véhicules électriques

Multplier les frais d’enregistrement pour les véhicules électriques

Pour avoir le droit de circuler, les véhicules doivent être enregistrés. Pour cela, leurs propriétaires doivent s’acquitter d’une taxe, ce qui donne lieu à l’émission d’un numéro et d’un certificat d’immatriculation permettant aux autorités de faire le lien entre un véhicule et son propriétaire
Voiture électrique en charge

kWh fee : taxer la consommation électrique dans la mobilité

À mesure que la part de véhicules électriques en circulation augmentera, le manque à gagner fera de même, rendant inéluctable le recours à une redevance sur l’utilisation des véhicules électriques. Plusieurs solutions peuvent être envisagées. L’une d’entre elles a pour objectif de taxer la consommation électrique des véhicules en important le modèle actuel de taxation des carburants.
Taxe sur les carburants

L’affectation des taxes sur le carburant à la mobilité

Historiquement, les États américains avaient recours à une taxation sur l’enregistrement des véhicules (registration fees) d’abord une seule fois puis annuellement ; dès 1919 et la mise en place d’une taxe sur la consommation de carburant, le financement de la construction d’infrastructures se fait au travers d’un impôt indirect perçu sur le prix de vente du carburant.

Recevez l’Instant Urbain

Restez informé des études et de l’actualité de La Fabrique de la Cité en vous inscrivant à notre publication mensuelle.

Inscription validée ! Vous recevrez bientôt votre premier numéro